Primitive root mod p

Transire suum pectus mundoque potiri

Seismology, Snow & Procrastination 18 February, 2008

Filed under: /dev/random,Programming — Nikolas Karalis @ 1:29 am

I haven’t updated my blog for a while. No specific reason… I was just procrastinating since exams were coming and I didn’t have much to say.

The latest news from Greece are the earthquakes and the snow (and of course my exams 😛 ).

The last few days, 2 big earthquakes (6.2 R and 6.9 R) shaked Southern Greece and last night, it began snowing in Athens!

This happens once every one or two years, so it is big news

So last night, a small earthquake reminded me of the passionate discussions about the earthquakes and since i didn’t have much to do because of the snow and my constant last month procrastination, i decided to build a database of the Greek Earthquakes of the last few years.

So, a little bit of coding and a few hours later, I proudly (:P) present my Greek Seismological Database (click here to visit).

EDIT : A new addition : It is automatically updated when a new earthquake happens…

I end this post, with a few photos from Athens in white.

*******

*******

 

One Response to “Seismology, Snow & Procrastination”

  1. primelude Says:

    Hey lad,

    Rayleigh/Love/groundwave and all that kind of seismic waves are really interesting to study. So having in mind I got exams in cymatics in a few days maybe its worth a shot to give ’em a quick look.


Leave a comment